Security Service Sacrifice



Tuensang D.E.F. was under Mokokchung Police District during the inception of police establishment headed by S.D.P.O. In the year 1974, it was bifurcated from Mokokchung Police district with the upgradation of post of Additional Superintendent of Police (independent) and subsequently Upgraded to a full-fledged Police District in the year 1976 headed by the Superintendent of Police. Shri Lukhei Sema, IPS was the first Additional Superintendent of Police of D.E.F. Tuensang who had taken over the charge of A.S.P. Tuensang on 09-02-1974 . Hence the ‘Raising Day’ of D.E.F. Tuensang can be recorded as on 09-02-1974.

Initially, there was only one Police Station at Tuensang Hqr, with one Police out-post at Kiphire functioning under D.E.F. Tuensang. In the year 1982 under the police re-organisation scheme this police district was divided into 7 Police Stations and Police Out-posts. However, owing to inclusion of Tobu Sub-Division with Mon district in the year 1980, one P.S. and one Police Out-post viz. Tobu Police Station and Manyakshu Police Out-post had merged with Mon Police district alongwith the sanctioned posts as per order of the Govt. Further, in the year 1994, with the creation of separate Police District headed by S.P. for Kiphire Sub-Division, one Police Station, Pungro Police Out-post and Seyonchung Police Out-post had mergerd with D.E.F. Kiphire alongwith the sanctioned posts against the aforesaid 3 Police posts.


* Superintendent of Police, Tuensang

* Additional S. P.

* SDPO (Tuensang)

* Dy.SP (Reserve)


1. Tuensang  P. S.

2. Noklak P. S.

3. Longkhim P. S.

4. Shamatore P. S.

5. Noksen P. S.

6. Chessore P. S.

7. Sangsanyu P. S.

8. Panso P. S.

9. Thonokyu P. S.


1. Chare Police Outpost


1. Office of the Dy. Inspector General of Police (NAP) Tuensang


* 3rd NAP Battalion at Tuensang

The 3rd NAP Battalion Nagaland Armed Force come into being on 1st May, 1967 at Chumukedima. Initially it was manned by a few staff and trained Constable with its office attached with the Office of 1st NAP Battalion Chumukedima. The first batch enrolled as constable into this Battalion during May 1967 with 116 personnel from V.G., 36 personnel from 1st NAP, 7 from 2nd NAP and 5 from D.E.F. Kohima. Shri H.B.Limbu the Deputy Commandant was posted as Officiating Commandant of the Battalion. He was joined by Shri Imti Yaden and Shri B.K. Singh as Assistant Commandants. On 15th July 1967 Shri S.R. Adharmi, IPS on deputation from Madhya Pradesh Police was posted to this Battalion as Commandant. New recruitment was also done subsequently. Thereafter by the end of March 1968, the total number of personnel touched 500 mark.

Thus fully organized as Battalion with different branches and Companys, on 30th April 1968 ‘C’ Coy as an advance party under the Command of Shri Imti Yaden, Assistant Commandant arrived at the present Battalion HQ location, Tuensang. The Preliminary developmental work was completed by 1st week of June 1968.

The establishment of new campus with accommodation facilities in the scale of Battalion HQ requires lots of labour and planning. The 3rd NAP Battalion HQ scheme indicates that these were not lacking with the pioneers of the Battalion. The tentative accommodation facilities for such larger number of persons in a period of one month could not have been possible without the generous help extended by the Deputy Commissioner and his staff, Police Project Division and the general public.



This template downloaded form